Mar 11, 2009

Posted by Eric Jackson in Internet, Scams | 29 Comments

Chinese Domain SPAM

Chinese Domain Spam Hopes To Wrestle Your Domain Away From You

Chinese Domain Spam Hopes To Wrestle Your Domain Away From You

If you have a domain name or website, you’ve likely received a message from “Margaret” or “Tina” in the “Checking Department.” Margaret (or Tina) will explain to you in her email that “Mr. John Zhou has attempted to register a domain name similar to yours!”  This is a common trick in the sketchy and shady domain name business.

The trick is:

  1. Scare the potential…uh…sucker by making them think someone is trying to steal from them.
  2. Use language in the message that makes it appear something is already underway.
  3. Reassure them that their glorious and helpful organization will stop this evil enterprise and help you acquire the “Internet Brand” that is rightfully yours.

So a few things to remember regarding this and other potential scams:

  1. Mr. John Zhou doesn’t exist. He probably didn’t submit a formal application for the rights to “HendersonvilleRotary.com.cn.”
  2. As far as I can tell, my local Rotary Club has no interest in expanding to China. Nothing against China, mind you…I just don’t see myself or any of my colleagues flying to China for breakfast, coffee and “buddy check.”
  3. If you ARE interested in doing business in China, there are many organizations that can help you do this. The Tennessee Chinese Chamber of Commerce, headed by Dr. Ming Wang, is dedicated to developing increased U.S.-China trade. Don’t get me wrong…I’m 100% in favor of American businesses expanding and selling their products and services in China. Buying a domain name in support of your new export venture is great. But something tells me you’ve got a lot more work to do before you start selling product or services in Beijing.
  4. They want your credit card. You can guess what happens next.

So, if you’re interested in registering insert-your-domain-here.com.cn, call or email us. We’d be happy to do it and we’ll even let Margaret (or Tina) know that you are ready to expand into Asia.

Here’s an example of a message you might see:

To whom it may concern               2009-3-11
We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,

Last week we received a formal application submited by Mr. John Zhou who wanted to use the keyword  “hendersonvillerotary.org” to  register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration  are same as your  domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his application

As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect Mr.John Zhou is a domain investor. so we need you to attach importance to this issue.

In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely

Margaret (or Tina…or some other American-sounding name)
Checking Department
Tel:   86 513 8562 2060
Fax:  86 513 8532 2065
Email:margaret@ntwifinetwork.com
Website: www.ntwifinetwork.com
Mail No.:756516

Share This Article With Others:
  • email
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Fark
  • Live
  • NewsVine
  • Pownce
  • Propeller
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis
  • YahooMyWeb

Post to Twitter Tweet This Post

  1. Yeah, copped one today. LOL!
    BTW, looks like Margaret’s moved up to management, it’s Joy that’s doing the work.

    Tony.

  2. Margaret was working overtime. I got my notices at 10:20pm.

  3. Now I have Jack on my case for my web domain. Thanks for having this available.

  4. thank you so much for this blog!!!
    i was going to register all domain… you saved me!!! thanx again!!!

    i was so afraid form my products madei n Italy

  5. PS: i received the mail from Sunny….the same text… but from Sunny

  6. Sunny wrote to me also – EXACTLY the same copy, it would appear that Margaret, Tina, Joy and Jack have all been fired LOL

  7. Margaret is back in action and touting for business! THanks for the article. I googled it as it stunk of spam, and lo and behold – it is!

  8. 3/29/2009 received from Joy…perhaps she was rehired or demoted back to the Checking Department (what ever that is).

  9. Tina wrote to me on the 28th.. but didn’t find it until today in the junk mail. I was a little worry as it only gives you 5 days to respond i only had 2 day. After talking to my web support team (Thanks guys) I decided to do some research and came across this site. So i would like to thank everyone associated with this site for letting us know and to my web support team for all there advise. Thanks and keep up the great work… this people need to be stop.

  10. Jay B in Houston, TX says:

    I received the same from Sunny several times. Do not respond to them directly since they have a nasty way of getting even by reporting you to spamcop.net, effectively blocking your email until you get it resolved. Instead, I have reported them to spamcop, I went to their website and at the bottom of Internet explorer, you can report the site as a phishing site.

    This is their official website, if you can call them official…
    http://www.ntwifinetwork.com

    I beg everyone to report them to ftc.gov until we can have their fake company blocked for good.

  11. Jay B in Houston, TX says:
  12. Aslam Jiffry says:

    Yah! Thanks for the info! i rcvd this mail from one Joy. i think Margaret is on leave. Thanks very much for the value article

  13. Oh it is Sunny now. She must be the new one in the checking department.

  14. They removed the names, mine came from the Checking Department. Justin Lin now wants my domain.

  15. I got one from Sunny in the Checking Dept., also mentioning Justin Lin. Thanks for the post and all the comments.

  16. I got the very same e-mail.

    I find this to be such childish nonsense! What do they do? Laugh?

    I took you up on the idea to file a complaint. I found a link form the ftc website to an international bureau:

    http://www.econsumer.gov/english/report/overview.shtm

    it was great to know just how many people are getting this crackpot solicitation!

    thanks!

  17. I just received an email from TINA Checking Dept, and Justin Lin is trying to buy my domain. Felt relaxed after reading all your messages above….thanks…

  18. Yes! I received one of these messages at the same time one of my administrators did. The only difference is that the name of the sender was Sunny. Other than that, everything else was the same righ down to the word. Thanks for keeping us informed.

  19. I just got one a few minutes ago. Margaret from the Checking Department was letting me know about Justin Lin going after my “Internet Brand”.

    Thanks for posting about this. It confirmed my strong suspicions.

  20. Yes Margaret just informed me a few mins ago that Justin Lin was trying to get my domain…he must be a busy little Asian!!!!1…lol

  21. I have also been approached about a “Justin Lin”.

    I didn’t become suspicious until I got my second email from “Sunny”, and they wanted to send me an application document.

    I am glad these for all these people sharing their experiences before I was roped in!

  22. Joy just emailed me. I guess the “Checking Department” is for “Checking” to see if I’m paying attention. And yes, Justin Lin wanted to register it…

  23. Wow!!! Justin Lin wants our domain, too. Amazing!! Joy must be on commission!!

  24. Nanette says:

    We got the same email from Margaret.
    We also received another one from a different company.
    Has anyone seen the same kind of email from a Cathy at the Auditing Department from EWORLD.HK?

  25. My letter was just the same and from Joy and it was Justin Lin that wanted my domain. He is busy, isn’t he? I did figure it was fishy but had no idea it was as wide spread. My server suggested I ignore it.

  26. A year ago, before this spam was so well known, I fought for my registered trademark “Virtual Silk” by registering the .cn; then did my research on the international treaties, starting with the Madrid Agreement. You may find my references useful. Go to virtualsilk cn (Note, I am not a lawyer and none of this is legal advice.)

  27. Got one today from John Zhou himself. Guess he’s seen the real money is in spam.

  28. I think the thread author is absolutely right. The people sending these letters are trying to frighten recipients into paying money to prevent squatting alternate extensions of their 2nd level domain name, where there is actually no squatting attempt being made. Further, I strongly doubt that these senders are even registrars. They are simply trying to steal money without providing any services.

  29. I just got a letter from “Robin” with the same type of questions etc. I guess they started hiring new people after they let the rest of the crew go. Hard times, you know.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Watch Out for Chinese Spam | the legitimate businessman's social club - [...] If you have a domain name or website, you’ve likely received a message from “Margaret” or “Tina” in the ...
  2. Modern "Netiquette" - Rules and Tools for being a Good Digital Citizen | Planet DMA - [...] alarming emails before you respond or forward them around the world! Just so you know, Justin Lim is not ...
  3. ntwifinetwork.com is a scam | ineedcaffeine.com | brian r stuckey - [...] http://blog.kbsweb.com/chinese-domain-spam/ Tags: Notices, scam [...]

Leave a Reply